Last book read online at Good Messages:


    Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/bimtri/public_html/goodfridaymessages.org/theme/pijat/recent_view.php on line 9

Go Set a Watchman


Harper Lee - July 14, 2015

Go Set a Watchman imageFrom Harper Lee comes a landmark new novel set two decades after her beloved Pulitzer Prize–winning masterpiece, To Kill a Mockingbird. Maycomb, Alabama. Twenty-six-year-old Jean Louise Finch—"Scout"—returns home from New York City to visit her aging father, Atticus. Set against the backdrop of the civil rights tensions and political turmoil that were transforming the South, Jean Louise's homecoming turns bittersweet when she learns disturbing truths about her close-knit family, the town, and the people dearest to her. Memories from her childhood flood back, and her values and assumptions are thrown into doubt. Featuring many of the iconic characters from To Kill a Mockingbird, Go Set a Watchman perfectly captures a young woman, and a world, in painful yet necessary transition out of the illusions of the past—a journey that can only be guided by one's own conscience. Written in the mid-1950s, Go Set a Watchman imparts a fuller, richer understanding and appreciation of Harper Lee. Here is an unforgettable novel of wisdom, humanity, passion, humor, and effortless precision—a profoundly affecting work of art that is both wonderfully evocative of another era and relevant to our own times. It not only confirms the enduring brilliance of To Kill a Mockingbird, but also serves as its essential companion, adding depth, context, and new meaning to an American classic.

Manifest Your Destiny


Wayne W. Dyer & Dr. Wayne W. Dyer - October 13, 2009

Manifest Your Destiny imageFrom the inspirational leader and author of the international bestsellers Your Sacred Self and the classic Your Erroneous Zones comes this mind-awakening guidebook for making your desires reality. Based on ancient principles and spiritual practices, Manifest Your Destiny introduces the Nine Spiritual Principles that will help you overcome the barriers--both within and around you--that prevent you from getting what you want, including: Developing spiritual awarenessTrusting yourselfReconnecting to your environmentAttracting your desiresAccepting your own worthinessPracticing unconditional loveMeditating to unlock the power within youLetting go of demands Filled with warmth and insight, this invaluable book will help you achieve your goals--and take you to a level higher than you've ever dreamed.

Luckiest Girl Alive


Jessica Knoll - May 12, 2015

Luckiest Girl Alive image***AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER*** Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will thrill at “the perfect page-turner to start your summer” ( People , Book of the Week): Luckiest Girl Alive —described by Reese Witherspoon as “one of those reads you just can’t put down!” “ Loved Gone Girl ? We promise [ Luckiest Girl Alive is] just as addictive.” — Good Housekeeping “Jessica Knoll introduces you to your new best frenemy, and you’re going to love it. . . .Destined to become one of the summer’s most gripping reads.” —Bustle.com “With the cunning and verve of Gillian Flynn but an intensity all its own, Luckiest Girl Alive is a debut you won’t want to miss.” —Megan Abbott, author of Dare Me and The Fever “ Luckiest Girl Alive is Gone Girl meets Cosmo meets Sex and the City . . . . Knoll hits it out of the park.” — Fort Worth Star-Telegram HER PERFECT LIFE IS A PERFECT LIE. As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent herself. Now, with a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome blue blood fiancé, she’s this close to living the perfect life she’s worked so hard to achieve. But Ani has a secret. There’s something else buried in her past that still haunts her, something private and painful that threatens to bubble to the surface and destroy everything. With a singular voice and twists you won’t see coming, Luckiest Girl Alive explores the unbearable pressure that so many women feel to “have it all” and introduces a heroine whose sharp edges and cutthroat ambition have been protecting a scandalous truth, and a heart that's bigger than it first appears. The question remains: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for—or, will it at long last, set Ani free?

Small Wars: A Jack Reacher Story


Lee Child - August 18, 2015

Small Wars: A Jack Reacher Story imageIn this eBook exclusive short story, #1 New York Times bestselling author Lee Child goes back to 1989, when Jack Reacher is an MP assigned to solve the cold-blooded murder of a young officer—whose killer may be closer to Reacher than he suspects.   Don’t miss a thrilling preview of Lee Child’s highly anticipated new Jack Reacher novel, Make Me !   The telex is brief and to the point: One active-duty personnel found shot to death ten miles north of Fort Smith. Circumstances unknown. Found in a silver Porsche along an isolated forest road in Georgia, the victim was shot twice in the chest and once in the head. A professional hit. Clean. The crime scene suggests an ambush. Military police officer Jack Reacher is given the case. He calls his older brother, Colonel Joe Reacher, at the Pentagon for intel and taps Sergeant Frances Neagley to help him answer the big question: Who would kill a brilliant officer on the fast-track to greatness? For Jack Reacher, the answer hits home.   Praise for #1 bestselling author Lee Child and his Reacher series   “Welcome to the relentless world of Jack Reacher and his impressive tendency to be in the wrong place at the right time. . . . Child has created an iconic character that other thriller writers try to emulate but don’t come close to matching.” —Associated Press   “[Reacher] is the stuff of myth, a great male fantasy. . . . One of this century’s most original, tantalizing pop-fiction heroes.” —The Washington Post   “Jack Reacher is the coolest continuing series character now on offer.” —Stephen King   “Child is a superb craftsman of suspense.” —Entertainment Weekly   “Easily the best thriller series going.” —NPR   “The truth about Reacher gets better and better.” —Janet Maslin, The New York Times   “If you’re a thriller fan and you’re not reading the Reacher series, you’re not a thriller fan.” — Chicago Tribune

The Essential Wayne Dyer Collection


Dr. Wayne W. Dyer - September 24, 2013

The Essential Wayne Dyer Collection imageThe #1 New York Times best-selling author Wayne Dyer has been inspiring people to change their lives for many years. Now three of his most fascinating books are collected in this single volume: The Power of Intention details Wayne’s research on intention as a force in the universe that allows the act of creation to take place. He explains that it is not something we do, but rather an energy we’re a part of. This is the first book to look at intention as a field of energy that we can access to begin co-creating our lives. Inspiration dissects feelings of emptiness, the idea that there must be something more, and trying to determine the meaning of life . . . all evidence of a yearning to reconnect with our soul space. This book explains how we’ve chosen to enter this world of particles and form, and each chapter is filled with specifics for living an inspired life. From a very personal viewpoint, Wayne offers a blueprint through the world of Spirit to inspiration, our ultimate calling. Excuses Begone! reveals how to change the self-defeating thinking patterns that have prevented us from living at the highest levels of success, happiness, and health. Wayne presents many of the conscious and subconscious crutches most of us employ, along with ways to cast them aside once and for all. The old, habituated ways of thinking will melt away as the absurdity of hanging on to them is exposed, and we ultimately come to realize that there are no excuses worth defending—ever. The Essential Wayne Dyer Collection is a must-read for those wanting to explore the power and potential of the human mind, as well as anyone who is finally ready to live the best life possible!

Popular Tags